Powered by Max Banner Ads 

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

MANILA – The Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) has voted on a short list of nominees for the post of Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice in view of the retirement of Presiding Justice Francisco Villaruz last June 8.
The list includes: Court of Appeals Associate Justice Apolinario Bruselas (6 votes), Interior and Local Government Undersecretary Rafael Santos (6 votes), and Sandiganbayan Associate Justices Amparo Tang (5 votes), Efren Dela Cruz (5 votes), and Gregory Ong (4 votes).
Those who applied included Sandiganbayan Justices Teresita Diaz-Baldos and Alex Quiros, and Justice Undersecretary Leah Armamento, and Abra Provincial Prosecutor Nestor Tolentino.
United Nationalist Alliance secretary general Toby Tiangco earlier questioned why Santos is vying for the post vacated by Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice Francisco Villaruz Jr. He said Santos’ bid for the Sandiganbayan post has the blessing of his current boss, DILG chief Mar Roxas.
Senate Justice Committee chairman Sen. Koko Pimentel now sits as the representative from Congress in the JBC.
The voting on the Sandiganbayan top post was first scheduled last July 1 but Congress sought a postponement as it had yet to choose who will represent the legislature to the JBC.
The Supreme Court (SC) recently ruled that Congress should have only a single representative and vote in the council, contrary to the practice of having 2 representatives.
The short list will be submitted to Malacanan: President Aquino will appoint the next anti-graft court chief based on the list.

View original post here: Mar ally in shortlist for Sandiganbayan post – ABS CBN News

:: Browse more latest news about Mar Roxas or browse more Elections Philippines articles. ::

compare car insurance

Add reply

  • Search: